Sigtuna DAR 3 - Cleanup

Original Author(s): Miki Azuma

The "Cleanup" function in Sigtuna DAR 3 allows you to remove unnecessary segments of audio from either the current NCC heading or the entire project. When an edit is made or a retake is done during recording, the original audio remains in the project folder and is not removed until Cleanup is done. Editing is non-destructive, so that until a Cleanup is done, it is possible to retrieve original takes through Windows Explorer. Cleanup does not allow you to correct recorded levels or remove imperfections in the quality of the audio recording.

When the production of a DAISY book is complete, including entry of bibliographic information, the project should be finalized using the "Cleanup the whole project" (F5) function. Following this the quality of the project can be checked in the QA Player (Quality Assurance Player).

You may need to use the "Cleanup current NCC item" for editing at any point during the production of the project. As noted earlier "Cleanup current NCC" is necessary for audio event editing in some situations. Extensive audio editing will result in many unused files being in the project folder. You may also use cleanup of the "Unused files" (SHIFT+F5) to free up disk space.

Please note that you can do cleanup only on WAV files coded in 16 bit PCM and 4 bit ADPCM2.

Go to "Cleanup" in the "Edit" pull down menu on the "Main screen", or click the "Cleanup audio in the current SMIL file" button (Ctrl F5) in the tool bar, to display the pull down menu containing the three cleanup options which are described below.

The popup window from 'Cleanup' in the 'Edit' pull down menu
The popup window from 'Cleanup' in the 'Edit' pull down menu

The 'Cleanup audio in the current SMIL file' button in the toolbar
The 'Cleanup audio in the current SMIL file' button in the toolbar

Three cleanup options menu
Three cleanup options menu

Cleanup the Current NCC Item

When audio events are edited so that they are not positioned after each other in the audio data stream it is not possible to join these audio events in the 'Edit screen', and Cleanup current SMIL will reorganize the audio files to allow this. It recalculates the time of the SMIL files and restructures the files.

Select the "Cleanup current NCC item" (CTRL+F5) in the popup menu. The "Cleanup audio in SMIL" dialog is now displayed.

It automatically starts cleanup process and as soon as it finished the process, it closes the "Cleanup audio in SMIL" dialog. While this process, Sigtuna DAR 3 recalculates the SMIL file time, and updates the result. The dialog contains two large text boxes. The upper box shows the progress of the cleanup process for the select SMIL (NCC item). The lower box displays the information about the SMIL file which is being cleaned.

The 'Cleanup audio in SMIL' dialog
The 'Cleanup audio in SMIL' dialog

Cleanup the Whole Project

When recording and editing are completed it is necessary to finalize the project using the "Cleanup of the whole project"(F5) option. This should be done when the project is complete and before you do a final quality check on the project with the "QA Player". Please note that you can check the project with the QA Player at any point in the production of a book. This cleanup process is composed of two processes - recalculation of the time of the SMIL files and deletion of unused and therefore unnecessary files.

Cleanup must also be done before "export".

Select "Cleanup the whole project" (F5) in the pull down menu. First, the "Cleanup audio in SMIL" dialog is displayed.

It automatically starts cleanup process and as soon as it finished the process, it closes the "Cleanup audio in SMIL" dialog. While this process, Sigtuna DAR 3 recalculates the SMIL file time, and updates the result. The dialog contains two large text boxes. The upper box shows the progress of the cleanup process for the select SMIL (NCC item). The lower box displays the information about the SMIL file which is being cleaned.

Start cleanup of audio in SMIL files
Start cleanup of audio in SMIL files

If there are any unused files in the project, the "Cleanup unused audio files" dialog automatically opens. The unused files are listed on the left, and the total size of these files is shown at the lower left corner of the dialog.

The unused file(s) is shown
The unused file(s) is shown

You can playback any of these files on the list, by selecting a file and clicking the playback button in the dialog. If there are any files that you do not want to delete for any reason, select the file and click the "Right arrow" button in the dialog, which moves the selected file(s) to the "Do not remove these files" list on the right.

When you are sure that the files listed on the left side need to be delete, click the "Start cleanup" button. The confirmation message is shown. Click "OK" to complete the precess.

Confirmation message for deletion
Confirmation message for deletion

Cleanup the Unused Files

When disk space for your projects is not large, Cleanup allows you to remove unused files to free up more disk space. Joining and splitting audio events, rerecording and retakes all create unused, unreferenced files that take up disk space. Cleanup allows you to delete these files to free up additional disk space. Until the files are removed using the "Cleanup unused audio files" they remain in the project folder and can be accessed in Windows Explorer. If disk space is not limited, it is not necessary to remove these files until the project is complete. When a project is complete unused files should be removed. If they are not, they will remain within the project archive and all distribution copies.

Select "Unused files" (SHIFT+F5) in the pull down. The "Cleanup unused audio files" dialog opens. The unused files are listed on the left, and the total size of these files is shown at the lower left corner of the dialog. You can playback any of the files on the list, with the option to keep them in the project rather than deleting them.

Cleanup unused audio files
Cleanup unused audio files

When you are sure that the files listed on the left side should be delete, click the "Start cleanup" button. The confirmation message is shown, and click "OK" to execute and complete the process.

Confirmation message for deletion
Confirmation message for deletion

See also

DAISYpedia Categories: 


This page was last edited by PVerma on Friday, August 6, 2010 11:02
Text is available under the terms of the DAISY Consortium Intellectual Property Policy, Licensing, and Working Group Process.