Save As DAISY and OBI

I am a beginner. I saved a simple MS Word Document which has plain English words in DAISY format. It was successful I then used AMIS to vocalise the text of this DAISY Book. It was easy and the result was perfect! However, I have a request for help: I wish to add audio recordings at different points in a DAISY book created in this fashion. They recordings could either be my recordings or other MP3 files . I thought I would be able use OBI to open such a DAISY book and edit it and add recordings. However, OBI does not seem to have any means to open the file/s of this DAISY Book. What must I do?

Hello Probir,

First of all thanks for using DAISY tools.
I would suggest you to please use TOBI instead of OBI.
Using TOBI you can select the different text where you would like to add your recordings/mp3 files.
Here is the TOBI webpage, http://www.daisy.org/project/tobi
you can visit the download page and download TOBI.
There is also a user mannual to help you out.
Thanks.

With Regards
Rachana

Thank you Rachana. I will learn TOBI and try it. However, do you concur that the way is to (a) use MS Word to create textual matter, (b) followed by Save-As-DAISY and (c) invoke TOBI to finalise document creation?

Regards

Probir

The Save as DAISY and Tobi combination is a good way to create multimedia DAISY and EPUB books with human voice narration.

I recommend that after doing the text mark-up in Microsoft Word, convert it to FULL DAISY using Save as DAISY if it is a English document.

In case of other language documents convert it to DAISY XML.

This is because when FULL DAISY option is used in case of English documents, sentence level mark-up is done. In case of Indian languages, FULL DAISY conversion does not make a difference and the text is marked up at the level of paragraphs only.

What ever you do, in Tobi import the XML file from the folder created by Save as DAISY.