Creating media

Forums: 

I'm very new to Daisy.  Bought a unit for my father now I want to create some media for him.

I have multiple books and plays as MP3 files.

I would like to be able to format some media so that he can skip to the next book as opposed to just the next chapter.

Is there some Daisy compatible tool to allow me to structure the files to allow this?

Thanks

PS I have OBI but it seems to create WAV files and there is no indication that the project structure (Multiple books with multiple chapters) will be able to be burned to a CD.

You have not clearly mentioned this, but it seems that you have a CD based DAISY player.

If so, you can put several DAISY books on one CD and the DAISY player will detect all the titles and will allow you to choose the one you want to listen.

Before burning the CD you need to prepare and put in a "diskinfo.html" file. The process of creating this file is clearly described in the article Creating a distribution CD.

Let me know if this helps you, else do write again with your questions.

"You have not clearly" ??  I have not clearly done what?  PLease explain

You have not mentioned the make and model of the DAISY player you are using. Different types of DAISY players are available in the market. Depending upon whether they use CD or flash memory the process of loading books may be different. If you mentioned the DAISY player details, I will be able to help you better.

Thanks I'll check it out.  Dad lives in a retirem,ent home so I dont immediately have access to the device to get the model  I think its the

Victor Reader Stratus12 M DAISY MP3 player.  I made a normal mp3 disc for him of a single book and that works fine but now I want to find a way to add multiple multipart plays in a way where he can easily move from one book to another.  Not sure if that's possible.

I'll check out the link you gave me ( I'll also check the formatting of text on this forum).

Thanks again